First voting results are in for Placer County

Published on June 7, 2022

The polls are now closed in Placer County. Here’s what we know so far.

Shanti Landon currently leads the race for Placer County District 2 supervisor with 3,419 votes followed by Scott Alvord with 2,555 votes and Paul Joiner with 1,745 votes. A majority of 50% of the vote plus one is needed to avoid a runoff election in November.

Wayne Woo currently leads the race for Placer County Sheriff-Coroner-Marshal with 18,729 votes, followed by Brandon Bean with 8,683 votes.

Measure A, a proposal to reauthorize an additional 2% tax on lodging guests in North Lake Tahoe, currently has 819 ‘yes’ votes and 74 ‘no’ votes. The measure needs over 50% of the vote to pass.

These results include over 35,000 ballots that were mailed in or dropped off early and processed in advance at the county Elections Office in North Auburn.

The results for 146 polling places from across the county will be uploaded and tabulated.

Tonight’s final official results may not become available until after 12:30 a.m.

The latest vote count is posted on the Placer County elections website.

Final, certified results - including provisional ballots, same-day registrations needing verifications, and eligible mail-in ballots not yet received - will be posted within 30 days. Jurisdictions have up to 30 days to complete a post-election audit of the elections called a canvas.

During the canvass, vote by mail, same-day registration and provisional ballots not counted on election night are researched to validate eligibility. The ballots cast in 1% of randomly-selected precincts from all contests on the ballot are manually tallied and balanced against the computer counts to verify the accuracy of the election tally system. Election officials are also responsible for preparing the county’s official ballot statement, listing the exact number of voted ballots, write-ins, unused ballots, spoiled ballots, roster signatures and more. The canvass concludes with the certification and issuance of official election results.