County Holidays

The official county holidays are listed below. County offices will be closed on these days.

If you have a life-threatening emergency on a county holiday, call 911 and you will be connected with the Placer County Sheriff's dispatch service. If you need to reach the county on an urgent but non-emergency matter, call the county main switchboard, available during non-business hours:

  • In Auburn area and outside the county phone: 530-889-4000
  • Toll-free in Placer County outside the Auburn area phone: 800-488-4308

2019 Holidays

Week DayDateIn Observance Of
TuesdayJanuary 1, 2019New Year's Day
MondayJanuary 21, 2019Martin Luther King Jr. Day
TuesdayFebruary 12, 2019Lincoln's Birthday
MondayFebruary 18, 2019Presidents' Day
MondayMay 27, 2019Memorial Day
ThursdayJuly 4, 2019Independence Day
MondaySeptember 2, 2019Labor Day
MondayOctober 14, 2019Columbus Day
MondayNovember 11, 2019Veterans Day Holiday
ThursdayNovember 28, 2019Thanksgiving Day
FridayNovember 29, 2019Thanksgiving Holiday
WednesdayDecember 25, 2019Christmas Day


2020 Holidays

Week Day Date In Observance Of
Wednesday January 1, 2020 New Year's Day
Monday January 20, 2020 Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
Wednesday February 12, 2020 President Lincoln's Birthday
Monday February 17, 2020 President's Day
Monday May 25, 2020 Memorial Day
Friday July 3, 2020 Independence Day falls on Saturday
Monday September 7, 2020 Labor Day
Monday October 12, 2020 Columbus Day
Wednesday November 11, 2020 Veteran's Day
Thursday November 26, 2020 Thanksgiving Day
Friday November 27, 2020 Thanksgiving Day Holiday
Friday December 25, 2020 Christmas Day